You are here
The EU has extended the sanctions against Russia European Union 

The EU has extended the sanctions against Russia

The European Union has extended the restrictive measures imposed against Russia for six months, until March 15, for violating Russia’s territorial integrity and for undermining or threatening its independence, the Council of the European Union announced on Thursday.

Following the assessment of the situation, the Council of Foreign Ministers of the EU Member States did not consider it justified to change the sanctions regime. The measures consist of the freezing of assets and travel conditions, and continue to apply to 155 people and 44 organizations.
Since March 2014, the EU has introduced restrictive measures against Russia in several steps. The measures were responses to the unlawful annexation of Crimea and the deliberate destabilization of Ukraine.
The EU’s restrictive measures introduced following the Ukrainian crisis include the ban on imports of products from Crimea and Sevastopol and the ban on exports of certain products and technologies.
In addition, in 2014, the EU resigned from the EU-Russia summit and decided not to convene the usual bilateral summits with the Russian side. The EU also suspended the visa issue and the negotiations on a new agreement between the EU and Russia.
In March 2015, EU leaders agreed on the timing of sanctions for the full implementation of the Minsk agreements, which has not happened yet.

Share Button

További Hírek:

Leave a Comment